27
Jan
07

Set to retire…

Four weeks from tomorrow my running shoes will retire from the training life. They will sink into the restful world of comfy shoes to wear anyday for any reason.

They have been great shoes. We have seen many miles together and will embark on our first half marathon together. Just me and my shoes on 2~18~2007.

Excitement is filling the air as well as a bit of anxiousness but so far I have been able to control the anxiety. I have trained long and hard for Feb. 18 and I know I am ready to give it my all and see what my best is… I started the road to the marathon with 2 good friends but on race day it will only be me at the starting line. (OK, about 10,000 strangers too)

Due to their life and the best choices for my girlfriends I understand and agree with their reasons for only being able to cheer me on. I am a bit sad we cannot share in the event together but I am so glad to have their support and encouragement through the entire process.

This is my third attempt to train for a marathon… injuries, pregnancy and births were part of what life brought me in the past. But I am so glad that for the last 6 months I have been injury free and have had no major illness. I have stayed strong and committed. As I look back over my hard work I remember when the day came in my shecdule that I was to run 6, 7, 8 miles. It had been so long since I ran long distances, I had 3 kids since and I was so nervous. Could I do it without stopping or walking? Would I be able to move afterwards. Would it take me all day. But with each new week and as the distances got longer I kept my pace and cut my times.

Now I can run 10 miles easily and not be winded, exhausted or run down. In fact I feel I could go do it again right after. I can do 10 in almost and hour and half. It is not a race winning time but it is an accomplishment for me and my next challenge. How fast can I really do it in? On days I run fewer than 5 miles it is hard for me to get up… I feel like it is a waste… it is too easy and not a challenge for me so therefore it is boring. So my short runs are intense interval trainings at more of a sprinters speed.

So I sit here in confidence ready to take on the 13.1 miles that Feb. 18 has to offer. As the emotional person I am I also sit here with tears streaming down my face… it is joyful and proud tears from my hardowrk yet at the same time a bit sorrowful as this chapter in my life comes to a close and I wonder what the next chapter has to offer. And yes a bit of nerves as well.

1 Response to “Set to retire…”


  1. 1 Meg
    January 28, 2007 at 10:55 AM

    wow…i am so proud of you!!! good luck on the big day!


Leave a Reply

Day by Day

January 2007
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 9 other followers

RSS Daily Quote

  • Franz Kafka
    "Start with what is right rather than what is acceptable."
  • Napoleon Hill
    "If you do not conquer self, you will be conquered by self."
  • Richard L. Evans
    "The undertaking of a new action brings new strength."
  • Billy Wilder
    "Hindsight is always twenty-twenty."

What I said…


