26
Jun
07

Our travels and excursions in south Mississippi

On June 16 we left home and drove to Mississippi. My parents and oldest sister live here.

We stayed a few days on the coast at moms and then drove north to my sisters where we stayed awhile and last night drove back to the coast. The kids have had fun with Mimi & papa and their cousins. I have had some me time and we have all done plenty of shopping.

On my sisters birthday we shopped and went out to dinner at the Longhorn Steakhouse. We had great food and fun. I found a vase for my hallway during our shopping. It is really pretty and plus has a cool story behind it. I love buying things that are unique and come with a history. The pottery is made from Katrina Mud.

The potter lost everything, like many others, during Katrina in 2005. With nothing to go home to he decided to help those that still had a structure to call home or work. The coast was covered in mud so he helped clean out the mud in several home and businesses. Although he was dealt a hand of lemons when he lost his home, and shop he decided to make lemon-aid with it. So he used all that mud to make pottery. Over the past 2 years he has been able to help others try and get back their life while trying to rebuild his business as a potter.

So anyway I have a vase and a berry bowl. I thought they were both beautiful and since we had friends and family who live on the coast and whose lives were thrown upside down these pieces in our home will be special to us.

On another day we went antique shopping. I found a few things I have been on the hunt for that were in excellent condition. Thanks to my mom I have one red and white enamel table with sideboards but on this day I found another red and white enamel table top and some pots. I think I can use one of the tables as an island in my kitchen and the other probably on the new deck when we need it. I will have to make a table from the one I bought…it came w/o legs. But it should be fun to restore these pieces. I would like to add casters to them so they can be rolled in and out of the house for use.

We have a few days left before we go back to Texas. They will be spent restoring the tables, eating at a few more of my favorite places and seeing some more friends. We wish we could stay longer as there are more things to do and see…always more shopping, swim meets and just spending more time with friends and family but with doctor appointments and tests to be done we will have to leave early Friday. Hope all goes as I have planned…it will be lonely when we get home since J will still be traveling until mid July but hopefully we can find something fun to do to celebrate July 4th… it will be our first one at our new home.

0 Responses to “Our travels and excursions in south Mississippi”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Day by Day

June 2007
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 9 other followers

RSS Daily Quote

  • Josh Billings
    "Genius ain't anything more than elegant common sense."
  • George Halas
    "Nothing is work unless you'd rather be doing something else."
  • Friedrich Nietzsche
    "That which does not kill us makes us stronger."
  • Plato
    "Man - a being in search of meaning."

What I said…


