10
Jul
07

Sleep Walking & Night Terrors

I have thought for some time that my oldest sleep walks. We have had a few times where it has been real scary. But here lately she has had what seem to be more like night terrors. She does not sit up stiff in bed with blood curling screams. Instead she is usually sleep walking and then she starts to scream and cry horribly. She is inconsolable for awhile and speaks but nothing I can make out. Once I can get her back to bed her entire body is shaking fiercely and the screams and cries seem to escalate.

Frankly, these scare me. I know it is something she will grow out of but with a 2 story house and all it does freak me out. Needless to say it is on our talk to the doctor list for her next check up.

On the nights she has these I am on the edge… jumping at every sound. I do hope we all can sleep well tonight….she just had another one.

1 Response to “Sleep Walking & Night Terrors”


  1. 1 Anonymous
    July 11, 2007 at 9:21 PM

    I lived with night terrors until I was put on medication after I got married. Part of the problem with them is that you can’t wake up. Even when your body is awake, you still think that you are dreaming. The dreams are much more realistic and much harder to “shake” even after you wake up. Maybe the doctor can give her something to help her sleep on a different level. I’ll be praying for her. I’m so sorry you’re having to deal with this!


Leave a Reply

Day by Day

July 2007
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 9 other followers

RSS Daily Quote

  • Franz Kafka
    "Start with what is right rather than what is acceptable."
  • Napoleon Hill
    "If you do not conquer self, you will be conquered by self."
  • Richard L. Evans
    "The undertaking of a new action brings new strength."
  • Billy Wilder
    "Hindsight is always twenty-twenty."

What I said…


