25
Aug
07

First time for everything…

Today I ran my scheduled 10 mile run. I left the house at 6:13 AM. It took me 2 hours and 3 minutes. I had a few water stops… but it was 87 degrees and 87-90% humidity. It was HOT and horrible but I am glad my time was not affected too much with my stops and the weather.

Before I opened the front door to leave I knew it would be a tough and long run…my water pack was leaking. Before I got to the 3 mile mark my shorts and socks were soaked. I hit 7 miles and was out of water. The sun was beating down on me and I was parched. Luckily I have back up and I called my cheer team and they brought me 2 bottles of water and cheered me on. I poured most of the first bottle on me and finished my run with the other one.

I have always avoided running in the heat and definitely try to avoid the horrible humid days but I don’t have leeway with my schedule so I suffered through today. I know it will pay off for me though…running in such conditions helps strengthen your lungs and tells your body you can do anything. I am counting on several more long runs in such conditions…not that I want them or am excited about it but I can’t change the weather.

1 Response to “First time for everything…”


  1. 1 Em
    August 27, 2007 at 11:43 AM

    I bow at your feet!!!! All I can do is play tennis in the heat for three hours then ice my shoulder!!! You are awesome!!!!!!!!


Leave a Reply

Day by Day

August 2007
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 9 other followers

RSS Daily Quote

What I said…


