27
Sep
07

Opinions, personal questions and none of your business

Opinions I believe are good. Opinions about you expressed by strangers need to be outlawed.

I have a reason for saying all of that but first to explain a few things. We all know I have been working out pretty hard since May. I have built up strong muscle all over my body, things have trimmed down, become lean and more curvier. In the process of building all the muscle that which is not,muscle becomes more obvious. I am talking about fat. As you build the muscle underneath we all know it becomes hard and forms nicely; the fat on the other hand, becomes accentuated and of course stays globby and flabby. And as most of us know it is much harder for women to loose fat, especially belly fat.

So I am a mom of 3 kiddos all relatively close in age and therefore have a nice portion of belly fat. It is a work in progress and I have been feeling really good about myself, have been wearing some clothes I could not wear before. I feel strong a feel like I look strong.

Until that bubble was burst last week. We were in Lowe’s looking at counter tops and talking with the sales person about our needs. She began to explain the best choices for us since we “have 3…oh 4 kids, you are pregnant right? ” her words exactly. I said no I am not pregnant as she looked at my belly yet again. I was crushed and wanted to cry… she walked off to get us some info to take home and I asked J what he thought. Now I don’t want him to lie to me and I ask for honesty… the look on his face said it all. So now I know my fat left from the kiddos is obvious to others as well as my attempts to camouflage it are not working.

Later the gal apologized but really what I am going to say…have a blubbering out burst right there in the middle of Lowe’s? Not my style… I mean who the heck asks a stranger if they are pregnant much less assumes they are and says you have 4 kids when only 3 are in the buggy?

Then today…it was mentioned maybe it is my posture that makes me look like I could be pregnant. Well I’m here to say it is not my posture and not much changes when all my ab muscle are tight.

Who the hell’s business is it anyway? Strangers keep your comments to yourself and don’t ask personal questions. Frankly, I am hurt and self conscious right now… comment if you like but don’t tell me not to worry about what others think because you know you have worried about what others think of you at one time or another.

3 Responses to “Opinions, personal questions and none of your business”


  1. 1 Em
    September 28, 2007 at 5:54 AM

    Girl! I think you look great! But, when you are ready to do what I did…. just let me know. I will come be your nurse and take great care of you! I have experience. Why do you think I had surgery. I didn’t want that extra baby skin with me forever! I worked my butt off to get “skinny” but didn’t look it…. I still have to work really hard. Right now, I have 8 minutes before I have to go workout, then play tennis for a couple of hours. It is hard to be a beautiful woman!!!! It takes a lot of work! You should challenge her to a foot race! You would totally win!!!!! Oh, I have cut out drinking, trying to save calories, I am rolling my eyes, because frankly, I would rather be a fat drunk than a skinny one, but vanity always takes over…. could I trade food points for booze points????? HHUUMMM……… I love you no matter what!

  2. 2 Anonymous
    October 23, 2007 at 7:00 PM

    All I can say is that I wish I lived in a body where I didn’t feel self-conscious. It does seem like no matter what I do, I never feel like I’ve “arrived.” I know exactly how you feel, and IT SUCKS!!! That’s why I had a tummy tuck and a boob reduction/lift. And for those who say they’d never go under the knife, good for them! I did the best I could, though, and I still felt like crap. Sad thing is when I weighed at the doctor’s office today, my negative thoughts were re-confirmed. The whole thing sucks!

  3. 3 Anonymous
    October 23, 2007 at 7:04 PM

    And I’m not freakin’ Rockr! Sorry again! It would be funny, though, if my son said he had a tummy tuck and a boob reduction/lift. There’s a little something to laugh about!!


Leave a Reply

Day by Day

September 2007
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 9 other followers

RSS Daily Quote

What I said…


