02
Feb
08

I have so loosened up as a mom!

The picture you see above is a big step for me. Quite HUGE actually.

For years my girls only got to paint at school or church. This due to someone else being in charge and cleaning up the mess. In fact, this last year I have just allowed my girls to use markers at home and at Christmas they got paints.

The reason you ask… well as soon as Hannah could walk and carry an object (she was 10 months old…now 5 years) She was in \”The world is my canvas\” phase. Only due to her age has that phase been tailored a bit. You see she would draw on everything, walls, furniture, people, clothes, toys, dishes, basically anything that could be marked on. With my OCD issues and other things this drove me nuts and so therefore crayons and pencil were the only thing allowed in the house. And scissors are iffy…they both have used them several times to cut hair. So letting them paint, let alone allowing Joshua to join in the fun is a big deal. I guess it is good for all of us that I now allow times of painting and scissors use…

Hannah is still the creative artist and still uses anything to draw on, thankfully it has just been anything in her room. Her door, closet doors and some walls display her artwork. A shelf that holds their TV is beautifully decorated and their old twin beds we gave away had a beautiful garden scenes all over the foot boards…(one thing I wished i got a picture of) As long as it stays in her room I am OK with it, although she still gets a talkin to for writing on the walls and furniture.

0 Responses to “I have so loosened up as a mom!”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Day by Day

February 2008
S M T W T F S
« Jan   Mar »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
242526272829  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 9 other followers

RSS Daily Quote

  • George Halas
    "Nothing is work unless you'd rather be doing something else."
  • Friedrich Nietzsche
    "That which does not kill us makes us stronger."
  • Plato
    "Man - a being in search of meaning."
  • John Dryden
    "Words are but pictures of our thoughts."

What I said…


