27
Jun
09

12 miles in thick, heavy, humid air and it was hot!

It was 80 some degrees when I got back from my run this morning.

I dreaded today yesterday. I tried not to think about today much last night. I ate a yummy basil pasta for my carb load for dinner, put the kids to bed and watched a show before I turned in myself.  I want to wake up before 5 so I would be out pounding the pavement at 5 am.

I was out the door and 5:05 this morning feeling thick air…there was no kindness to it either. Not a hint of one ounce of cool in the dark morning. Last Saturdays 10 mils was long, I was tired..I wanted to stay in bed so I was a bit anxious as to how today was going to go. Luckily, I felt rested, energized and my muscles were loose. Despite the nasty weather I felt great.

I packed G2 Gatorade in my water pack…I don’t care for Gatorade much, especially nit fruit punch but I care more about not dehydrating, not loosing too much sodium and other nutrients that keep me alive that the heat will suck from me. However, the Gatorade gives you dry mouth…I was hydrated but my mouth was dry and thick and this became distracting. Despite that I was keeping pretty good time. I was enjoying my run, which was some what shocking as I hate to run in the heat. So with 3 miles left to go I called in reinforcements…I needed water. I so needed the dryness to go away. So hubby “rescued” me! I was so thankful..the last 1 1/2 miles was face into the hot, bright sun…

Needless to say the AC and cold shower was such a great reward this morning. Now hoping for next weeks 14 miles to be better weather wise.

3 Responses to “12 miles in thick, heavy, humid air and it was hot!”


  1. June 28, 2009 at 11:32 PM

    Congratulations, girlfriend!!! You go!!!

  2. 2 Emily
    June 29, 2009 at 7:24 AM

    lets see, you are hoping next weeks weather to be better? I think you might have to wait just a little while for that to happen…. I know where you live! I will cross my fingers for a break in the humidity! Just think, train in this, and let’s REALLY cross our fingers for no humidity on race day!!!!!! Speaking of, when is it???? I need, NEED to put it on my calendar!!!! When you were rescued, did he have on his cape????? 🙂

  3. 3 Bronwyn
    June 29, 2009 at 8:27 AM

    I know I am a hopeless optomist, right/! Race day is Sunday, November 15! Yes, cape and all..plus his lil sidekick was with him 🙂


Leave a Reply

Day by Day

June 2009
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 9 other followers

RSS Daily Quote

  • George Halas
    "Nothing is work unless you'd rather be doing something else."
  • Friedrich Nietzsche
    "That which does not kill us makes us stronger."
  • Plato
    "Man - a being in search of meaning."
  • John Dryden
    "Words are but pictures of our thoughts."

What I said…


