08
Mar
11

5 hours of cooking for 1 meal

I love mexican food. My favorite is taco salad, but since I cannot eat corn chips it is not the same with just crispy flour tortillas.

Saturday we had some neighbors over and I decided to make mexican. I really was not thinking about it, I just wanted to make some of my favorites. I did no prep ahead of time so at 2pm on Saturday I figured I  should start cooking since they were to arrive at 7.

I made 4 batches of tortillas. I wanted to have enough to use and for them to choose between store-bought or homemade.

I made fresh pico, fresh guacamole, and a black bean salad.

I made a white queso with sausage and bean & beef burritos. I also made some chicken chimichurry.

I even had to shred cheese. Store bought shredded cheese has corn in it.

I love to cook and I especially love to cook for others. I enjoyed making all the food and everyone enjoyed eating it. However, when I put the burritos in the oven and looked at the clock I was surprised to see it was 6:50pm and that I had been working non stop since 2. Everything was corn free except the corn chips I bought for everyone else. I had gotten grass-fed beef and pork and fresh veggies at the farmers market that morning. It was a good meal and I am enjoying the leftovers for lunches this week.

Next time, I will do prep work a few days before I make such a big mexican meal and not save it all for one day.

0 Responses to “5 hours of cooking for 1 meal”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Day by Day

March 2011
S M T W T F S
« Feb   Apr »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 10 other followers

RSS Daily Quote

  • Plato
    "Man - a being in search of meaning."
  • John Dryden
    "Words are but pictures of our thoughts."
  • Charlotte Bronte
    "Life appears to me too short to be spent in nursing animosity, or registering wrongs."
  • Sophocles
    "Our happiness depends on wisdom all the way."

What I said…


