01
May
11

ugh….so tired of cooking

I love to cook. Always have. Except for now…it has been 3 months since I found out about my corn allergy. Since then I have rarely eaten out. It is just not easy to do that.

Everything has to be homemade…the seasoning mixes, condiments, salad dressings, breads, desserts. There are few shortcuts to making anything. Sandra Lee cannot make it easy for me now. 30 minute meals just don’t exist unless it is leftovers. I am just plain tired of the many stores I have to shop at to get ingredients, tired of making everything from scratch, my family is growing tired of my 4 meals I rotate. If you count my many pasta dishes then I rotate 8 meals…but its just pasta with different veggies.

I have 2 things this week that requires me bringing a food item. Well, if I want to eat something safe while I am there I have to make something from scratch. No more grabbing a box of donuts or pastry item from the store on the way to the event…I think a personal assistant would be great. They can focus on the errand running and other miscellaneous mom stuff then maybe I would be happy to cook again.

I just miss convenience. There is not a drive thru I can go to when I am out running around, no quick restaurants to swing into and when I am hungry and do not want to cook I better hope there are leftovers in the fridge. Otherwise, I am stuck eating fruit a lot. I want to cook what the other 5 love and request….but to do so I either cook 2 meals or find a homemade recipe for what they want. Things like wild rice, we love but I cannot eat Uncle Ben’s…mexican food…forget any convenience there at all, Cajun or spicy food…yup gotta make my own hot sauce and seasoning blends.

I know this is just a phase probably steered on by the fact I am putting off making 2 things I need for the events I am going to this week. Just needed to vent, get it off my chest….now I should go get to baking and cooking I suppose….still ahve to make dinner too!

3 Responses to “ugh….so tired of cooking”


  1. 1 Coleman
    May 5, 2011 at 11:38 PM

    Mexican Food = el diabolo. No me gusta que te dañaba! Te amo!! besos

  2. 2 Coleman
    May 5, 2011 at 11:38 PM

    Pero… FELIZ CINCO DE MAYO!!!!

  3. May 17, 2013 at 2:50 AM

    Its like you read my mind! You seem to know a lot about this, like you wrote the book in it
    or something. I think that you could do with a
    few pics to drive the message home a little bit, but other than
    that, this is great blog. A great read. I will definitely be
    back.


Leave a Reply

Day by Day

May 2011
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 9 other followers

RSS Daily Quote

  • Josh Billings
    "Genius ain't anything more than elegant common sense."
  • George Halas
    "Nothing is work unless you'd rather be doing something else."
  • Friedrich Nietzsche
    "That which does not kill us makes us stronger."
  • Plato
    "Man - a being in search of meaning."

What I said…


