17
Jan
12

Why I hate tile…

I  am thoroughly exhausted!

We have tile in our kitchen. I hate it but we cannot afford the cost of taking it out and replacing it with wood right now. So I must deal with it. Despite the mopping and scrubbing i do weekly I cannot keep the grout clean. So today I finally got fed up with the look of the nasty grout and cleaned it. Cleaning it meant spending 2 1/2 hours on my hands and needs with a sponge and cleaner. My forearms are a tad sore and my knees don’t love me so much right now, it is not like they were all that happy with me cleaning right after my morning run. So wish we had wood throughout…I hate the labor intensive tile and I am too much of a perfectionist to not have the grout the way i want it. Bright, clean and neat.

I am pleased with the result. It is so bright and pretty. I then had the bug to really clean the wood floors as well….then I spent the rest of the day making brownies and cakes. Tomorrow I will spend most of the day in the kitchen to make dressings, sauces, breads and snacks so I can eat more than fruit.

Hannah’s birthday is tomorrow. NINE YEARS OLD! She requested homemade spaghetti and bread. I just pulled her cake for tomorrow night out of the oven, once it cools I am going to collapse in the bed….

3 Responses to “Why I hate tile…”


  1. January 23, 2012 at 6:36 PM

    The grout is so beautiful!! Seriously a work of art. Even if no one notices but you, it’s a major accomplishment and one that deserves accolades. Love you!

  2. 2 Amy
    January 25, 2012 at 4:34 PM

    We have laminate wood and maybe it’s better for cleaning but ours scratches so easily it bugs me to no end! Do you have real wood on the other parts or laminate?

    • 3 Bronwyn
      January 25, 2012 at 4:56 PM

      We have real wood, tile in kitchen and baths. Carpet upstairs but I am so ready to make it wood. Some of our tiles have chips in them, it’s just not a great floor in my opinion. You can’t easily replace 1 tile. But we are the 2nd owners of this house and it came with tile…..


Leave a Reply

Day by Day

January 2012
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 9 other followers

RSS Daily Quote

What I said…


