16
Nov
12

I take my job seriously!

As a stay at home m om to 4 with a traveling husband I have to be on the ball 24/7. I have no sick days, few days off and the burden of raising happy, healthy, brilliant, God-loving children weighs heavy on me.

Today while I was buying the masses of food it takes to feed the munchkins and get things done before a week off from school I got a call from the middle school nurse. Taylor was in the clinic with a fever that was climbing. I was at least 25 minutes away. Well, I finish and head out to the country to go get Taylor. We get in the car and I begin the ER triage questionnaire to determine what the next steps will be…. home to bed, Urgent Care, Our beloved Pediatrician and so on. After my assessment of the situation I decide that my superior nursing skills must surface and we tackle this illness head on!

Beware! The picture you are about to see may be disturbing to some. Please proceed with caution. I am not responsible for any shock, trauma or PTSD you may experience today or ever.

Now, I would like to take this time and thank my mom and her excellent nursing skills. Without her I am not sure where I would be today. See, my mom was the best nurse, even when had the dreaded illness named HOOKIE. On those days especially, we would go to Hardee’s after the rest of the kids went to school and get some cinnamon rolls. Then we would run errands, shop or go home and play. And just before my siblings walked in the door from school in the afternoon I would grab a pillow, lay on the couch and mama would cover me up. I may have napped a bit but we all enjoyed after school cartoons together.

So having my own children now I feel the need to not dread sick days but make the most of them and be the best nurse possible. So I gave Taylor some Tylenol, fed her lunch and since no other symptoms were present and she was not lethargic we went to the mall before Mercie got out of preschool and had a little fun.

Thanks mom, I LOVE YOU. Sorry if Amanda, Meagan, and/or Bubbie call you to complain or inquire about the recurring HOOKIE disease I had. But I figure they are old enough to deal with it and heck, isn’t it obvious I am your favorite? They should know that by now right?!

2 Responses to “I take my job seriously!”


  1. February 13, 2013 at 4:41 PM

    Having read this I thought it was really enlightening.
    I appreciate you taking the time and energy to put this short article together.
    I once again find myself personally spending way too much time both reading and leaving comments.

    But so what, it was still worthwhile!

  2. July 10, 2013 at 7:10 AM

    My brother suggested I might like this web site. He was entirely right.
    This post actually made my day. You can not imagine
    just how much time I had spent for this information!

    Thanks!


Leave a Reply

Day by Day

November 2012
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 10 other followers

RSS Daily Quote

  • Plato
    "Man - a being in search of meaning."
  • John Dryden
    "Words are but pictures of our thoughts."
  • Charlotte Bronte
    "Life appears to me too short to be spent in nursing animosity, or registering wrongs."
  • Sophocles
    "Our happiness depends on wisdom all the way."

What I said…


