22
Aug
14

STOP THE PRESSES!!!

Are you sitting down?

 
I read Interrupted in two days! Did you hear me?! TWO DAYS!!!

 
This is such big news, so shocking my sister (who is prego with baby #5) said “There is no need to name her baby because the rapture is sure to come any day now!”
Why all the excitement you ask?

 
Well, for starters I am not a reader. I don’t really enjoy it. It is labor some for me. There is a lot of re-reading passages, breaks are needed, my eyes get super tired, I fall asleep, and my comprehension is not so great. All of that combined equals no fun. In fact, counting Interrupted, I can now use both hands when counting up how many books I have completed. (We are not including Dr. Seuss, Mother Goose, or Goodnight Moon… I have read plenty of short children’s books to my kids)

 
Secondly, the fact that I finished it in such short, almost light speed of a time frame is also impressive. I have a stack of books I have started but have not completed. I’d rather read a magazine and by read I mean, skim through the pages and read the headlines and bold words and within 5 minutes I am done, unless there are some great pictures.
So, now you understand the shock and awe I created by reading the entire book in two days. And I did not sequester myself to get it done. I still lived life, cooked, baked, took kids to the pool, ran errands, napped etc…etc…etc…

 
Needless to say it was a good book. It spoke volumes to me. I loved it! I feel like it put words to the nagging feelings I have had. It helped explain what I feel is missing in my church experience. It spurred me to pray a prayer I needed to pray a long time ago. I took the plunge and prayed for God to make known to me what, where He wanted me. To confirm or dissolve thoughts and ideas I have had if they are not His. And to also confirm things with my family as to where we need to be and what we need to be doing.

 
So I wait, continue to seek Him, pray and wait….let the ride, journey begin.

0 Responses to “STOP THE PRESSES!!!”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Day by Day

August 2014
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 10 other followers

RSS Daily Quote

  • Plato
    "Man - a being in search of meaning."
  • John Dryden
    "Words are but pictures of our thoughts."
  • Charlotte Bronte
    "Life appears to me too short to be spent in nursing animosity, or registering wrongs."
  • Sophocles
    "Our happiness depends on wisdom all the way."

What I said…


