11
May
17

Are we ever ready?

I feel stuck. I don’t want to move. Maybe if I stay right here time will stand silly a little while longer. I am not ready to be a witness to life’s big changes. Can we go back to sill shopping days and pushing the big kids around in store buggies, and blind soap smelling and late night games?

New beginnings are beautiful and I am excited but I am also sad about the ending of this phase in life.

Goodness me, if I am so emotional now how am I going to deal with my own children’s big and exciting life events.  We are far from the stages of the kids walking, talking, and learning to do things on their own. We are staring at the stages of moving out, being on their own and finding their own life and creating that while we sit on the sidelines.

I knew these things would be hard… I knew I would miss many things… I am not ready, but is anyone ever ready?  It all goes by so quickly….

1 Response to “Are we ever ready?”


  1. 1 Gayle
    June 13, 2017 at 1:21 PM

    Your job as a parent is to prepare your child for these very things. Are we ready yes and no. Just remember this is the order of life and the beginning of a new chapter. Always be there when they need you and believe me they will. they will call with some of the same questions they asked all their life and you’ll think to yourself, “I know I’ve answered that a hundred times”, but you’ll answer it again anyway, because that’s what parents do.


Leave a Reply

Day by Day

May 2017
S M T W T F S
« Apr    
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 9 other followers

RSS Daily Quote

  • George Halas
    "Nothing is work unless you'd rather be doing something else."
  • Friedrich Nietzsche
    "That which does not kill us makes us stronger."
  • Plato
    "Man - a being in search of meaning."
  • John Dryden
    "Words are but pictures of our thoughts."

What I said…


