31
May
07

Here comes the rain

It is stay in bed weather. Seeing how it is still early in the day I should still be in bed. We have nowhere to be and nothing to do this morning.

I was awoken by distant thunder this morning. As I laid there in bed listening to it I found myself happy about it. I love the rain and one of my favorite things is thunderstorms. The sound is intoxicating, relaxing and sweet to me. I find storms awesome. I have been through several that have been scary…anything from a bad storm whose thunder was creepy and odd to hurricanes and tornado’s. Their power is magnificent and can be so devastating. The latter I obviously do not enjoy. I just prefer a good thunderstorm. Dark skies, lulling rain drops, flashes of bright light and crashes of thunder.

I suppose I enjoy these more than most. J and I love to listen to them….we even have a Thunderstorm CD we play on occasion. Since moving to Texas I have gotten a bit excited when I hear thunder. During our 7 years in California thunderstorms were so rare they made the top story on the news for days. Lightning was all anyone talked about the next day, as if it was a new discovery. It took me awhile to adjust to all that when we moved to California. I thought it rather odd…but I suppose if something is that rare one can be so shocked and terrified of it.

So this morning as the storm started I got up so I could watch it from my windows and enjoy the quiet of the storm while all the kiddos are still dreaming. I am not a morning person by nature but one of my favorite things to do is be up before anyone else, sip my coffee and enjoy the peacefulness of our home. I suppose the reason I enjoy it so much is because I am a mom and times of peace and solitude are few and far between.


1 Response to “Here comes the rain”


  1. 1 Amy
    June 1, 2007 at 10:08 AM

    I love those quiet mornings alone as well. I need that to get mentally prepared for the day ahead of me!


Leave a comment


Day by Day

May 2007
S M T W T F S
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 11 other subscribers

What I said…