14
Jul
07

A very full weekend so far…

We have been busy non stop it feels like. Our weekend has been full of stuff so far. The stuff we had to do were short items but it seemed like forever to get done.

On Thursday we tried to run our errands, well that did not get done after starting late in the day and spending a lot of time at Costco. So Friday was going to be the day. Well Joshua took a long nap so that halted things for a bit but I was able to go to the grocery store and make a stop (for over an hour!) at the Dept. Of Public Safety to finally get a new license. I suppose it was about time since we have lived here for 373 days. Then I get back and we hit the road to finish our errand list, new filter for fridge, pick up J’s luggage, new insole for my running shoes, Lowe’s and GNC. Well after getting J’s luggage we were involved in a minor, but could have been oh so major, car accident. All of it due to road rage. As we made a wide turn in our big SUV to avoid construction workers we pissed off the guy in the car in the lane next to us. We never came close to him and did not cut him off by any means, we were several yards in front of him. Well he decided to speed up and as he drove by he flipped us off, keeping his entire arm out of the window to make sure we, kids included, saw it. Fine, whatever, go on with life…well he did not see things that way he then abruptly cut us off. We were in the far left lane, he was in the right. Well as he clipped the front of the car while cutting us off, no turn signal, nothing, J had to recover immediately and slam on the brakes so we would not go flying into on coming traffic and have a head on collision.

So the guy speeds away and we follow… he refuses to pull over for around 5-7 miles…meanwhile J is on the phone with 911 to report him. Well once the guy pulls over he gets out of his car and gets nasty with J…(he is still on the phone with 911 so they here it all) anyway the cops show up and we spend close to 2 hours on the side of the road with all 3 kids in the car. Unfortunately the cops did not give him a ticket and there were no charges to press for his aggressive and dangerous driving. I am so glad J was driving because I am not sure I could have reacted as quickly and safely as he did once we were hit and who knows what would have happened.

Once again, we try to finish our errands. We get all but one done and then go out to dinner. While waiting for a table Joshua takes 3 steps all by himself to J. YAY!! After dinner we head home for bed.

Well today with my sore legs from my tough leg workout with my trainer on Thursday I hit the road and ran 10 miles. I had to walk a bit and stretch out my legs a few times. But I feel better, legs are still sore but I have taken my pain relievers and iced them so I hope tomorrow will be much better. I am quite pleased that even with my sore legs and since it has been 2 months since I ran 10 miles that I was only 10 minutes over my normal pace.

J has been productive in assembling our new patio furniture and cleaning out the garage. I am worn out and looking forward to making our favorite homemade pizzas for dinner and watching a movie…maybe open some wine and off to bed. I do pray Sunday is more relaxing, pain free and uneventful.


2 Responses to “A very full weekend so far…”


  1. 1 Anonymous
    July 17, 2007 at 1:12 PM

    Good heavens! What a weekend! No wonder you’re worn out! You don’t have thyroid issues, just an incredibly busy life! Too bad when the guy flipped you off, he didn’t clip your car then and lose that finger! That’d serve him right, and it would have been a great lesson to the kids not to use that finger – at least not while driving!!

  2. 2 Anonymous
    July 17, 2007 at 1:14 PM

    Well, poo!!! I commented as rockr again! You’d think I’d catch on by now!


Leave a comment


Day by Day

July 2007
S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 11 other subscribers

What I said…